logo Benoit Systèmes

THE COMPANY

BENOIT SYSTEMES

Situated in the heart of the Côte d’Or, less than an hour from Dijon, Benoit Systèmes, founded in 1994, has been offering motorisation solutions for wheelchairs for over 20 years.

The idea of the founder, Robert Benoit, was to build a whole way of life for persons with reduced mobility, by creating an extensive array of tools to cope with the various circumstances of daily life.

The first product to be marketed was the Light Active, a light, removable motorised aid for the wheelchair. The goal? To make life easier for persons with reduced mobility by considerably increasing their independence on all types of terrain. This product provides four times as much power as a person’s arms.

After the Light Active, Benoit Systèmes perfected two other power packs: the Light Drive, which is operated with the joystick and the Light Assist, which provides assistance for the person pushing the wheelchair. Next, there is a range of accessories with Acti’Tab, a tray that it takes seconds to put in place on your lap, so that your hands are free, or KitCool, an ergonomic accessory that is installed between the handles of the wheelchair, to instantly transform it into a comfortable recliner.

The latest innovation from Benoit Systèmes was unveiled at the Lépine Competition in May 2018. This is the Mobili Kit. Robert Benoit wanted to create a product that would help people stay self-sufficient at home – a motorised device on which you can mount your favourite chair, to move about more easily. This was an exciting idea since, once more, it was designed with great empathy by Robert Benoit and his teams. “From the psychological point of view, it’s our own chair, we needn’t change our habits and the device is very unobtrusive.” The first deliveries are expected in October.

The team

Today, Benoit Systèmes has a turnover of €3.7 million and 1150 power packs were sold in 2017. But, Benoit Systèmes is also a company on a human scale, which currently has 35 employees working towards a common goal: to make life easier for persons with reduced mobility.

As the company’s staff turnover is almost nil, the team is made up of employees who, for the most part, have been very involved in the design of the products, as well as in the development of the company, with which they are very familiar

"Setting up a company is often the action of an individual, but it rapidly becomes a shared adventure."
Robert Benoit

Equipe Benoit Systemes

Robert BENOIT Founder of Benoit Systemes

Robert Benoit

I have projects that would fill at least the next 50 years, the problem is that I’m already 70 !

Robert BENOIT Founder of Benoit Systèmes

When he was 21 years old, Robert Benoit was injured in a car crash. This was in March 1969, and the young man learnt that he would, from then on, be paraplegic. That was the beginning of the road to accepting it. “After the initial shock, I reacted quite quickly. I’m a naturally positive person,” he says. “In hospital, I experienced a real miracle!”

With 16 people in a ward, in conditions that would nowadays be considered rudimentary, even unhealthy, Robert Benoit, nevertheless, found the means there to rebuild his life. “I found myself with other young people in my situation, who had been there for several months and who had already accepted the idea that they would never walk again.

And, in spite of that, they were still smiling and joking among themselves. So, it was understood that life wasn’t over.” The young man spent hours discussing the best ways to organise their daily lives in wheelchairs. Even before he was out of hospital, Robert Benoit thought up new projects together with his companions on the ward.

Once back home, he started working on ideas of power packs for persons with reduced mobility. First of all, he created a removable front wheel fitted with a petrol motor that enabled the wheelchair to reach 30 km/h (18.6 mph). With the patents applied for and the company created, Robert Benoit had faith in this project. After several promising years, the company had to face financial difficulties and was put into receivership, and then into liquidation.

It was out of the question for him to give up because of this failure. He set himself back to work and set up a second company in 1994. That was the birth of Benoit Systèmes. The idea was to build a whole way of life for persons with reduced mobility, by creating an extensive array of tools to cope with the various circumstances of daily life. He then marketed the Light Active, a light, removable motorised aid for wheelchairs. The goal? To make life easier for persons with reduced mobility by considerably increasing their independence on all types of terrain. Light Active provides four times as much power as a person’s arms. He wanted to design a motor that would be very easy to attach to and remove from a wheelchair, rather like putting a jacket on, or taking it off, according to the weather.

logo Benoit Systèmes

ENTREPRISE

L’ENTREPRISE BENOIT SYSTEMES

Installée au cœur de la Côte d’Or, à moins d’une heure de Dijon, l’entreprise Benoit Systèmes créée en 1994 propose des solutions de motorisation pour fauteuils roulants depuis plus de 20 ans.

Pour Robert Benoit, le fondateur, l’idée était de bâtir tout un système de vie pour les personnes à mobilité réduite en créant une panoplie d’outils pour faire face aux différentes circonstances de la vie quotidienne.

Le premier produit commercialisé est le Kangouroo, une assistance motorisée légère amovible pour fauteuil roulant. L’objectif ? Faciliter la vie des personnes à mobilité réduite en augmentant considérablement leur autonomie sur tous types de terrain. Ce produit offre une puissance quatre fois supérieure à celle des bras.

Après le Kangouroo, Benoit Systèmes a mis au point deux autres motorisations : le Minotor, qui se pilote avec un joystick, et le Pousseur, qui représente une assistance pour la personne poussant le fauteuil roulant.

Puis une gamme d’accessoires avec l’Acti’tab, une tablette qui se positionne en quelques secondes sur les cuisses pour libérer les mains, ou encore le Kitcool, un accessoire ergonomique qui s’installe entre les poignées du fauteuil roulant pour le transformer en un instant en un siège confortable.

La toute dernière innovation de Benoit Systèmes a été présentée au concours Lépine en mai 2018. Il s’agit du Mobili kit. Robert Benoit a souhaité créer un produit destiné à aider les personnes à rester autonome dans leur domicile : un appareil motorisé sur lequel il est possible d’installer la chaise de son choix pour se déplacer plus aisément. Un concept prometteur puisqu’il a encore une fois été conçu de manière très empathique par Robert Benoit et ses équipes : « Sur le plan psychologique, c’est notre propre chaise, on ne change pas ses habitudes et l’appareil est très discret. » Les premières livraisons sont prévues pour le mois d’octobre.

L’equipe

Aujourd’hui, Benoit Systèmes, c’est 3,7 millions de chiffre d’affaires et 1150 motorisations vendues en 2017. Mais Benoit Systèmes est aussi une entreprise à dimension humaine qui emploie aujourd’hui 35 salariés qui travaillent dans un but commun : faciliter la vie des personnes à mobilité réduite.

Le turn-over au sein de l’entreprise étant quasiment nul, l’équipe est donc composée de salariés qui ont, pour la plupart, largement participé à l’élaboration des produits, ainsi qu’au développement de l’entreprise et qui les connaissent bien.

"La création d’entreprise est souvent un acte individuel, mais elle doit rapidement devenir une aventure collective."
Robert Benoit

Equipe Benoit Systemes

Robert BENOIT Fondateur de Benoit Systemes

Robert Benoit

J’ai des projets pour les 50 années à venir au moins, le problème c’est que j’en ai 70 !

Robert BENOIT Fondateur de Benoit Systèmes

À l’âge de 21 ans, Robert Benoit est victime d’un accident de voiture. Nous sommes en mars 1969 et le jeune homme apprend qu’il est désormais paraplégique. Commence alors le chemin vers l’acceptation. « Passé le moment d’anéantissement, j’ai assez vite réagi. Je suis d’un naturel positif. », raconte-t-il. « À l’hôpital, j’ai vécu un véritable miracle ! ».
À 16 dans un dortoir, dans des conditions qui seraient aujourd’hui considérées comme rudimentaires, voire insalubres, mais qui ont pourtant permis à Robert Benoit de se reconstruire. « Je me suis retrouvé avec d’autres jeunes dans ma situation qui étaient là depuis quelques mois et avaient déjà accepté l’idée qu’ils ne remarcheraient jamais.
Et malgré cela, ils n’avaient pas perdu leur sourire et plaisantaient entre eux. On comprend alors que la vie n’est pas finie. » Le jeune homme passe des heures à échanger sur les meilleures façons d’aménager leur vie quotidienne en fauteuil roulant. C’est avec ses compagnons de chambre que Robert Benoit pense à de nouveaux projets, avant même sa sortie de l’hôpital.

À son retour chez lui, il commence à travailler sur des idées de motorisation pour les personnes à mobilité réduite. Il crée dans un premier temps une roue avant amovible, équipée d’un moteur à essence permettant au fauteuil roulant d’atteindre les 30km/h. Brevet déposé, société créée, Robert Benoit croit en ce projet. Après quelques années prometteuses, l’entreprise doit faire face à des difficultés financières : elle est alors mise en redressement judiciaire, puis en liquidation.

Pas question pour lui de rester sur cet échec. Il se remet au travail et met sur pied une deuxième entreprise en 1994. C’est la naissance de Benoit Systèmes. L’idée était de bâtir tout un système de vie pour les personnes à mobilité réduite en créant une panoplie d’outils pour faire face aux différentes circonstances de la vie quotidienne. Il commercialise alors le Kangouroo, une assistance motorisée légère amovible pour fauteuil roulant. L’objectif ? Faciliter la vie des personnes à mobilité réduite en augmentant considérablement leur autonomie sur tous types de terrain : le Kangouroo offre une puissance quatre fois supérieure à celle des bras. Il voulait créer un moteur qui se fixe et s’enlève très simplement du fauteuil, tout comme on peut enfiler ou enlever un gilet en fonction de la météo.